SLC Fall Awards Nomination Form

The Student Life Committee is accepting nominees for the following awards to be presented at Fall Honors Day. Nominations will be accepted from any student, administrator, faculty, or staff member. Please note: select no more than 2 awards for each student; self-nominations are not permitted. The deadline for submissions is Monday, September 11, 2023.

(Please note your form session will expire after 15 minutes.)

Nominator details

John Alfred Hamme Awards

Established by John Alfred Hamme (1918), are given to the two juniors who have demonstrated in the highest degree the qualities of loyalty, kindness, courtesy, true democracy and leadership.

Dr. Carl Arnold Hanson Leadership Award

The income from a fund contributed by his wife, Anne Keet Hanson, friends and alumni, in honor of Dr. Carl Arnold Hanson, President of Gettysburg College from 1961-1977, is awarded to a student who has achieved at least a 3.0 average in his/her major through the middle of his/her junior year and who has demonstrated significant leadership abilities in one or more areas of college life as determined by the faculty.

Rev. George N. Lauffer and N. Naomi Lauffer Scholarship Award

The income from a fund is given each year to a junior who has maintained high scholarship and who evidences outstanding ability and character. It is understood that the recipient will complete the senior year at Gettysburg College.

J. Andrew Marsh Memorial Awards

The income from the fund is presented each year to the sophomore and junior students of Gettysburg College who best exemplify the "whole person" concept through positive attitude, exceptional spirit, high standards, and notable achievement, both curricular and extracurricular.

William F. Muhlenberg Awards

The income from a fund is awarded to two juniors on the basis of character, scholarship and proficiency in campus activities.

Student Life Committee Award

A citation is awarded to a student in recognition of the quiet influence he or she has exerted for the improvement of the campus community.

Keith Pappas Memorial Award

The Keith Pappas Memorial Award is given annually in memory of Keith Pappas, a member of the Class of 1974, to a student who represents one or more of the organizations of which Keith Pappas was a member, which include APO, Biology, Choir, College Administration, Honor Commission, Phi Delta Theta, Health & Exercise Sciences, Res Life, Student Senate.

Dean Frank B. Williams Memorial Prize

Presented annually to a junior or senior, selected by a representative of the College Life Division. The student must have exceptional leadership in student affairs, strength of character, integrity, be compassionate to other students, and have made positive contributions to the college community and/or the Gettysburg community.

G. Ronald Couchman Endowed Diversity Award

Awarded annually to three students whose actions best celebrate diversity at the College and the integration of that diversity within the campus community. Diversity will be defined as diversity in race or ethnicity, intercultural diversity and diversity in sexual orientation. Students will have demonstrated their support of diversity through their character, leadership, volunteerism and participation in student activities.